#1 ▸ Thinking Back On The Year

2024年9月5日 recap, general

well, it's officially been a year since makoenergy first opened to the public! i figured i'd talk about what's changed and what i've learned.

having this webspace to myself is honestly not something i planned- it was one of those spontaneous decisions. i took a Post-It from my desk, scribbled a design onto it with a stubby pencil, and got to coding the next day.

i've learned a lot about myself since last year- mostly that i am much better off keeping my peace. i told myself i'd stay anonymous here (though, it's become more semi-anonymous than anything) because i have a bad habit of oversharing, making my problems other people's problems and vice versa. honestly, you can see me struggle to not overshare in older versions of my about page.
i've grown as a person and as a web designer since then- so i think i've changed that and i'm really proud of myself for being able to!

as for my love for FF7, well, you can tell it's not going anywhere. part 2 of the Remake wasn't out when i first made makoenergy, but alongside wanting to pay homage to fans of the past/present/future, the hype train for part 2 was definitely a cause for me to make a site like this.

off-site, i've improved in terms of my art, going from drawing on my phone to primarily using my computer (FYI: for now, i still draw on my phone when making art for this site- i've gotten a bit rusty with mobile digital art since switching, but i think i've still got it!). with V2 i wanted to show off my creative side by making a bunch of graphic designs- for example, my NavLink ad and the big banner on the homepage. i'd love to make more and definitely plan to.

here's to next year! if you're reading this, thank you! i would have thrown Brackets in the trash within a week without your support and encouragement.
'till next time...

-mako